Biography

Professor Wei Shyy

President, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology


Professor Wei Shyy assumed the presidency of HKUST on 1 September 2018.
 
 
Professor Shyy first joined HKUST in August 2010 as Provost and Chair Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Prior to joining HKUST, Professor Shyy was Clarence L. “Kelly” Johnson Collegiate Professor and Chairman of the Department of Aerospace Engineering of the University of Michigan.
 
 
Professor Shyy obtained his BS degree from Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan, and his MSE and PhD degrees in Aerospace Engineering from University of Michigan. Professor Shyy has supervised and hosted many PhD students as well as postdoctoral fellows and visiting scholars.
 
 
He is the author or a co-author of five books and numerous journal and conference articles dealing with computational and modeling techniques involving fluid flow and its associated design optimization issues, biological and low Reynolds number aerodynamics, energy and propulsion, and a broad range of topics related to aerial and space flight vehicles. He was the Principal Investigator of several multi-institutional research projects, funded by the US government and industries, on future space transport, bio-inspired flight, and computational aeronautical science. He is General Editor of the Cambridge Aerospace Book Series published by the Cambridge University Press, Co-Editor-in Chief of Encyclopedia of Aerospace Engineering, a major reference work published by Wiley-Blackwell.
 
 
Professor Shyy is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He has received awards for his research and professional contributions, including the AIAA 2003 Pendray Aerospace Literature Award, the ASME 2005 Heat Transfer Memorial Award, and the Engineers’ Council (Sherman Oaks, CA) 2009 Distinguished Educator Award. As an alumnus, his accomplishments were also recognized by Tsing-Hua University, Taiwan and the University of Michigan. His professional views have been quoted in various news media, including the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Associated Press, the USA Today, the Christian Science Monitor, the New Scientist, the US News & World Report, and SCMP.
 
 
As an academic leader, Professor Shyy has consistently advocated broadening educational scope and approach, advancing research and knowledge transfer to help address global challenges. He is committed to promoting university’s societal engagement and independent, entrepreneurial spirit. He has also led efforts in fostering diverse and inclusive campus cultures to better reflect and support the university’s overall mission.
 
 
Motivated by his appreciation of the intrinsic beauty of natural flyers, Professor Shyy is an avid bird photographer. Some of his photos are compiled in an eBook, entitled "Flight InSight".

简历

史维教授

香港科技大学校长

史维教授於2018年9月1日出任香港科技大学校长。
 
 
自2010年8月,史教授加入科大担任首席副校长曁机械及航空航天工程学系讲座教授。加入科大前,史教授是美国密歇根大学Clarence L. “Kelly” Johnson讲座教授及航天工程学系系主任。
 
 
史教授在台湾清华大学取得动力机械工程学士学位,并於美国密歇根大学取得航天工程学硕士及博士学位。史教授曾指导及接待多位博士学生丶博士後研究员及访问学人。
 
 
史教授的著作甚丰,曾撰写及共同撰写五本书,以及多份期刊和会议文章,内容遍及计算和建模技术,包括流体力学和相关的设计优化问题丶生物及低雷诺数空气动力学丶能量和推进力,以及与航空和太空飞行器相关等广泛主题。他是多个跨机构研究项目的首席研究员,项目由美国政府和不同行业资助,负责研究未来的太空运输丶仿生飞行及计算航空科学。他是剑桥大学出版社《剑桥航天》丛书系列的总编辑,也是Wiley-Blackwell出版社主要参考书籍《航空工程百科全书》的联席编辑。
 
 
史教授是美国航天及宇航学会及美国机械工程师学会院士,并曾多次获奖,包括美国航天及宇航学会2003年Pendray航天文献奖丶美国机械工程师学会2005年热能转换纪念奖及工程师委员会(加州Sherman Oaks分会)2009年杰出教育家奖等。作为校友,史教授的成就也得到了台湾清华大学和美国密歇根大学的认可。史教授的专业观点屡获各大新闻媒体引用,包括《纽约时报》丶《华盛顿邮报》丶《美联社》丶《今日美国报》丶《基督科学箴言报》丶《新科学家》丶《美国新闻与世界报道》及《南华早报》等。
 
 
作为享誉国际的学术领导者,史教授一直倡导拓展教育范畴和方法,推进研究和知识转移以应对全球挑战。他致力促进大学参与社会事务,培养大学自主及创业精神,期望缔造多元共融的校园文化,以实践和支持大学的整体使命。
 
 
史教授醉心雀鸟翱翔之美,因此热爱以镜头捕捉鸟类,其部分作品被辑录在名为《Flight InSight》的电子书。